Boating Safety Education Requirements

* Anyone born on or after January 1, 1988 who operates a vessel powered by 10 horsepower or more must pass an approved boater safety course and have in his/her possession photographic identification and a boating safety education identification card issued by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.

* The following operators are exempt:

o A person licensed by the U. S. Coast Guard as a master of a vessel.

o A person operating on a private lake or pond.

o An operator who is accompanied onboard by a person who is least 18 years old and possesses the required
Boating Safety Education Identification Card, provided that person is attendant to and responsible for the safe operation of the vessel.

o An operator who is accompanied onboard by a person who is exempt from the educational requirements, provided that person is attendant to and responsible for the safe operation of the vessel.

o A non-resident who has in his or her possession proof that he or she has completed a NASBLA-approved boater safety course or equivalency examination from another state.

o A person who is operating a vessel within 90 days after the purchase of that vessel, provided they have available for inspection aboard that vessel, a bill of sale meeting all the requirements as
established in Chapter 328.46(1), Florida Statutes.

Please follow this link to take the FL required boater safety coarse. http://www.boatingbasicsonline.com